Primary School Aged Children

We follow the Swim England Learn to Swim Framework which is the most widely known part of swimming lessons for primary school aged children.  In Swim England’s (formerly the ASA) word’s –

“The Swim England Learn to Swim Framework is about developing confident and competent swimmers through fun and enjoyment, and Learn to Swim Stages 1-7 are at the heart of the Swim England Learn to Swim Programme.”

Although there is a lot to learn in these stages we will ensure to progress you as quickly as possible with a variety of Swim England Awards to encourage you on your way.  We also have Swimawey Awards which are much more light hearted and often linked to the games and activities we do.  This helps us to award children for simply having fun swimming when instead they might be getting frustrated being stuck on a level.

Swimawey’s Pirate Award

Stage 1

Developing basic safety awareness, the ‘class’ scenario, basic movement skills and water confidence skills.  Swimmers may use buoyancy aids, e.g. arm bands, floats, etc.

Stage 2

Developing safe entries into the water, including jumping in, basic floating, travel and unaided rotation to regain upright positions.  Swimmers may use buoyance aids, e.g. arm bands, floats, etc.

Stage 3

Developing Safe entries including submersion, travel up to 10 metres on the front and back, progress rotation skills and water safety knowledge.

Stage 4

Developing an understanding of buoyancy through a range of skills, refining kicking technique for all strokes, and swimming 10 metres to a given standard as directed by the ASA.

Stage 5

Developing watermanship through sculling and treading water skills, complete rotation and also performing all strokes to the given standard as directed by the ASA.

Stage 6

Developing effective swimming skills including coordinated breathing, developing the water safety aspects and understanding of preparation for exercise.

Stage 7

Developing quality stroke technique up to 100 metres, incorporating skills learnt and combining them to develop a linked routine.  (Like most pool’s however our pool is not deep enough to allow diving so we cannot do this part of the stage).

Aquatic Skills Framework

The Aquatic Skills Framework covers Stages 8-10, but at this point you have to choose which pathway you want to follow as it splits into a variety of specialities – Water Polo, Diving, Competitive Swimming techniques, Synchronised Swimming, Snorkelling and Rookie Lifesaving.  As a small pool we do not cover all of these areas but when you get to that stage we can help guide you in the right direction.